Lares Trek to Machu Picchu 5D/4N (Start Trek on Day 2)

Start: Cuzco, Peru Finish: Cuzco, Peru

Visiting: Cuzco, Wakawasi, Patacancha, Aguas Calientes


Duration: 4 Nights

Tour Operator: Bamba Travel


Prices From: $1284

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

The most famous hike to reach Machu Picchu is the Inca Trail, yet other great and less crowded alternatives exist, such as the Lares Trek. This high altitude trek will please hikers interested in interacting with the local communities and seeing their way of life in the countryside.

Highlights

  • icon See magical Machu Picchu in the early morning light
  • icon Camp in the midst of snow-capped peaks
  • icon Hike through Andes mountain villages
  • icon Enjoy authentic views of community life

Places You'll See

Countries:
Cities & Attractions:

Itinerary

Map Image
icon Day 1: Cuzco, Peru

Location: Cuzco

icon Day 1: Cuzco, Peru

Location: Cuzco

Our Casa Andina Premium Cuzco is strategically located and beautiful hotel just a few blocks from the Main Square (Plaza de Armas), ideal place to initiate visits of the surroundings, cultural walks to the tourist places more known like the Cathedral of Cuzco or the convent Santo Domingo and to discover the charms of the historical center.
It has 93 rooms that are characterized by a personalized service and all the comforts that our guests may need with free extras like: buffet breakfast, free Wifi, restaurant and bar, concierge service, room service, among others.
The hotel staff in the restaurant is highly trained to recommend the best dishes in our restaurant.
Our hotel is the best option to rest before your trip to Machu Picchu.

icon Day 2: Wakawasi, Peru

Location: Wakawasi

Cuzco to Lares Town & Trek to Wakawasi (3,850 m) (L/D)
Today, you will be picked up at your accommodation between 5:00- 6:00 am and transferred by bus to Lares Town (2,900 m). You will get the opportunity to relax in the Hot Springs (at an extra cost) before starting your 6-hour trek. You will hike a zigzagging climb to reach the town of Wakawasi (3,850 m). There, you will enjoy beautiful views of glaciers, wildlife, and local communities. You will have the chance to meet local families that live in harmony with nature.
Note: Today, you will hike for about 6 hours (14 km).

icon Day 3: Patacancha, Peru

Location: Patacancha

Trek to Patacancha Town (3,800 m) (B/L/D)
Today, you will trek up for about 4 hours to the top of Ipsayccocha Pass (4,400m) where you will enjoy a peaceful moment before stepping down for 40 minutes until your lunch stop next to the lake. You will continue 3 more hours to Patacancha town (3,800m) where you will get the chance to camp surrounded by llamas, alpacas and amidst native crop plantations.
Note: Your today's trekking will be about 15 km (8 hours).

icon Day 4: Aguas Calientes, Peru

Location: Aguas Calientes

Trek to Ollantaytambo & Train to Aguas Calientes (B/L/D)
Today, you will walk for 4 hours until Ollantaytambo. After lunch, you will take off on a train that will lead you to Aguas Calientes, where we will overnight in a hotel. Your guide will give you indications for the next day. If you have time, stroll through the streets where you will find many cafes, plenty of shops and places to relax.
Note: Your today's trekking will be about 12 km (4 hours).

icon Day 5: Cuzco, Peru

Location: Cuzco

Explore Machu Picchu & Return to Cuzco (B)
This morning, you will take the bus early at 05:30 am to Machu Picchu (25-minute ride) so that you will enjoy the mysterious city as the mist dissipates in the early morning light. You will get the opportunity to have a 2-hour guided tour of the spectacular archaeological site and learn more about the history of the place. You will then explore this incredible city on your own. You will also be able to climb the Huayna Picchu Peak (to book in advance at an extra cost). You will then head towards Aguas Calientes by bus where you can visit the local marketplace next to the train station before returning to Ollantaytambo. From there, you will take a bus back to Cuzco arriving around 08:00 pm. You will be dropped off at the Plaza San Francisco. Please make your own way to the accommodation of your choice.

What's Included

  • icon
    Experiences

  • icon
    Activities

  • icon
    Transport

  • icon
    Guides

    Some of the activities

  • icon
    Accommodation

    See full inclusions for details

  • icon
    Meals

    4 Breakfast(s), 3 Lunch(es), 3 Dinner(s),

  • icon
    Extras

    Handy extras and accessories

What's Not Included

  • icon
    Hot springs Lares Town (10 soles)

  • icon
    Accommodation drop-off in Cuzco

  • icon
    Optional Huayna Picchu Trek (48 soles) must be booked at least 2 weeks in advance

  • icon
    Optional Machu Picchu Mountain Hike (48 soles) must be booked at least 1 week in advance

  • icon
    Tips

  • icon
    Airport pick-up/drop-off (please make your own way)

  • icon
    Sleeping Bag (Rental $15 USD for the trek)

  • icon
    Day 1 breakfast, day 4 lunch & dinner

  • icon
    Guide for bus and train transfers (these portions are on your own)

  • icon
    Small gift for communities

  • icon
    Bottled water

  • icon
    Accommodation in Cuzco

Book with Confidence

  • icon
    Low Deposit

    Bamba Travel requires a deposit of 20% to secure a place on this tour, and the final balance is not due till 30 days before departure..

  • icon
    Free Date Changes

    Bamba Travel allows you to make 2 free date changes, as long as the change is made at least 60 days before the start of the tour.

  • icon
    Transfer as credit to Future Tours

    Bamba Travel allows you to transfer existing payments to a future tour to avoid cancellation fees if you can't travel and inform Bamba Travel, 60 days before departure.

  • icon
    Cancellation Policy

    If you need to cancel your tour, here is a summary of Bamba Travel charges.

    Up to 60 days before tour starts: 100% of deposit
    At 30 days before tour sarts: 50% of tour cost
    At 15 days before tour sarts: 100% of tour cost
  • icon
    Secure payments

    All payments to TourHub are deposited into an externally regulated Trust account.


Travel, Your Way

Good reasons for travelling privately

  • icon
    Personalise your trip

    Make changes to the itinerary, accommodation, or transport method

  • icon
    Increased safety during COVID

    Spend the majority of time amongst your group to reduce exposure to others

  • icon
    Travel more exclusively

    Your tour guide can focus all their attention on your group

  • icon
    Travel for a special occasion

    Celebrate an important event by only travelling with your friends or family

Learn more

Dates & Availability

Select departure month
Instant Booking Available

Sunday May 09, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday May 11, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday May 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday May 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

20

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday May 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

5

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday May 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

20

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday May 23, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday May 25, 2021

Nights

4

Available

9

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday May 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

11

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday May 30, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jun 01, 2021

Nights

4

Available

10

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jun 04, 2021

Nights

4

Available

22

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jun 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

7

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jun 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jun 11, 2021

Nights

4

Available

15

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jun 13, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jun 15, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jun 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

5

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jun 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jun 22, 2021

Nights

4

Available

20

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jun 25, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jun 27, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jun 29, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

4

Available

5

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jul 04, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jul 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

9

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jul 09, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jul 11, 2021

Nights

4

Available

24

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jul 13, 2021

Nights

4

Available

10

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

22

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jul 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jul 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jul 23, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Jul 25, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Jul 27, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Aug 01, 2021

Nights

4

Available

23

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Aug 03, 2021

Nights

4

Available

19

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Aug 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

14

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Aug 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

24

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Aug 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

5

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Aug 15, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Aug 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Aug 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

7

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Aug 22, 2021

Nights

4

Available

21

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Aug 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Aug 29, 2021

Nights

4

Available

5

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Aug 31, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Sep 03, 2021

Nights

4

Available

21

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Sep 05, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Sep 07, 2021

Nights

4

Available

19

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

9

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Sep 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

10

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Sep 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Sep 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

23

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Sep 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

7

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Sep 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

22

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Sep 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

15

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Sep 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

10

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Sep 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

11

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Oct 01, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Oct 03, 2021

Nights

4

Available

7

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Oct 05, 2021

Nights

4

Available

15

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Oct 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Oct 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

24

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Oct 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Oct 15, 2021

Nights

4

Available

19

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Oct 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

19

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Oct 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

23

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Oct 22, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Oct 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

10

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Oct 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

8

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Oct 29, 2021

Nights

4

Available

14

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Oct 31, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Nov 02, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Nov 05, 2021

Nights

4

Available

19

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Nov 07, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Nov 09, 2021

Nights

4

Available

14

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Nov 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

22

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Nov 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

22

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Nov 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Nov 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Nov 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

21

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Nov 23, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Nov 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Nov 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

6

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Nov 30, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Dec 03, 2021

Nights

4

Available

23

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Dec 05, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Dec 07, 2021

Nights

4

Available

15

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Dec 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Dec 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

18

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Dec 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Dec 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

13

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Dec 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

15

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Dec 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

17

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Friday Dec 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

12

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Sunday Dec 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

9

$1284.00

Instant Booking Available

Tuesday Dec 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

16

$1284.00