Chateaux of the Loire Walk

Start: France Finish: Loire

Visiting: Loire


Duration: 8 Nights

Physical rating: Leisurely

Special diets catered: Please inform Exodus of specific dietary requirements

Tour Operator: Exodus

Age range: 8 to 99

Tour operated in: English


Prices From: $1754

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

On this 8-night, self-guided holiday you'll enjoy wonderfully relaxed walking amidst the sublime architecture and picturesque landscapes of the famous Loire region. Your holiday begins in Chaumont from where you'll follow serene riverside tracks and meander through sleepy villages and hamlets towards the charming wine village of Chitenay, an ideal base from which to discover pretty Cheverny with its impressive 'Secrets of Moulinsart' art exhibition. After a transfer to Bourre, you'll keep the beautiful River Cher close, walking through Montrichard, Chenonceaux - with its iconic chateau on the banks of the Cher - and Montlouis before heading, via verdant fields and vineyards (be sure to enjoy a spot of wine-tasting!) to the medieval market town of Amboise. Explore the narrow, winding streets and take in the imposing Chateau d'Amboise, a royal residence and Da Vinci's final resting place, before returning to Chaumont where you'll experience yet another masterpiece - the Chateau de Chaumont which dates back to the 10th century and hosts the acclaimed International Garden Festival.

Highlights

  • iconWonderful relaxed walking on flat, riverside routes and through poppy fields and parkland
  • iconHotels full of character with delicious regional cuisine and excellent wines
  • iconSleepy wine village of Chitenay; pretty Amboise with its boutique-lined streets
  • iconBeautiful Loire and Cher rivers; majestic chateaux including Amboise, Chenonceau, Cheverny and Chaumont

Places You'll See

Countries:
Cities & Attractions:

Itinerary

Map Image
icon Day 1 : ARRIVE AT CHAUMONT

Meals: dinner

Arrive at your riverside hotel in Chaumont. *(Staying at Hostellerie du Chateau, Half Board)*

icon Day 2 : CHAUMONT TO CHITENAY

Meals: breakfast, dinner

Today's walk takes you alongside the River Beuvron into the sleepy village of Cande-sur-Beuvron before passing the Chateau de Frileuse on your way to Les Montils, a perfect place for a lunch stop. Heading out of town through open countryside, you arrive in the pretty hamlet of Seur, before crossing the river into Chitenay. Your hotel offers superb food; relax on the terrace overlooking the gardens and swimming pool and enjoy an aperitif before dinner. *(Staying at Auberge du Centre, Half Board)*

icon Day 3 : AT CHITENAY

Meals: breakfast, dinner

The sleepy wine village of Chitenay is ideally placed to visit many of the Loire's finest chateaux. We particularly recommend picture-postcard Cheverny which has one of the region's largest art collections including a permanent 'Secrets of Moulinsart' exhibition, and also, just 3km further on, lovely little Chateau de Troussay with its rich furnishings collection, elaborately decorated ceilings and attractive landscaped gardens. *(Staying at Auberge du Centre, Half Board)*

icon Day 4 : CHITENAY TO CHENONCEAUX

Meals: breakfast

Today a 20-minute transfer takes you to Bourre, where you'll begin your walk alongside the River Cher. You have the chance to visit the Caves des Roches - or 'mushroom caves' - on the way, a vast network of underground caves and tunnels which were formerly limestone mines. You'll also pass La Magnanerie de Bourre, the site of traditional cave dwellings and a silk-worm farm. Continue your walk alongside the River Cher to Montrichard, a traditional French town with its own riverside beach and a number of good restaurants to choose from for lunch, before heading along the GR41 through Chissay-en-Touraine to Chenonceaux. *(Staying at Hotel La Roseraie, Half Board)*

icon Day 5 : AT CHENONCEAUX

Meals: breakfast

Today you can marvel at the impressive Chateau de Chenonceau, one of the best-known of the Loire chateaux with its iconic arches over the river. This fairytale chateau has seen some famous figures from history, notably Diane de Poitiers and Catherine de'Medici - rivals for Henry II's affections - and Mary, Queen of Scots. The university city of Tours is an easy train ride away, home to a plethora of bars, cafes and restaurants, along with popular shopping centres and quirky independent shops in the old quarter. *(Staying at Hotel La Roseraie, Half Board)*

icon Day 6 : CHENONCEAUX TO AMBOISE

Meals: breakfast

Take the train from Chenonceaux to Veretz-Montlouis and from there follow the back roads of the GR3 which run parallel to the River Loire. From Montlouis you'll walk through the Loire's sprawling vineyards, with the chance to stop and taste delicious wines on the way; don't forget - we'll carry any wine purchases for you! Continue your walk alongside the Loire and you'll arrive in the bustling market town of Amboise. *(Staying at Hotel Le Pavillon des Lys, Breakfast only)*

icon Day 7 : AT AMBOISE

Meals: breakfast

Amboise has a charming mediaeval feel, with historical links to the French Royal Family and also connections to Leonardo da Vinci who spent his last few years at Clos Luce, now a museum which houses displays of some of the artist's original work. Da Vinci's tomb is housed in the majestic Chateau d'Amboise which also hosts the impressive Son et Lumiere display. Amboise offers plenty of restaurants and cafes in which to relax and sample the local wines and produce. *(Staying at Hotel Le Pavillon des Lys, Breakfast only)*

icon Day 8 : AMBOISE TO CHAUMONT

Meals: breakfast, dinner

Head south-east today, following the GR3 trail towards the village of Souvigny-de-Touraine, before sauntering through open fields and vineyards, perhaps stopping off for a final tasting! You'll then join the Camino de Santiago trail as you make your way back to riverside Chaumont. *(Staying at Hostellerie du Chateau, Half Board)*

icon Day 9 : LEAVE CHAUMONT

Meals: breakfast

LEAVE CHAUMONT

What's Included

  • icon
    Meals

    8 breakfasts, 0 lunches, 4 dinners.

  • icon
    Luggage transfers between hotels

What's Not Included

  • icon
    Single supplements

Food

Continental breakfast and 4 evening meals. Standards of cooking in the Loire are consistently high. It’s civilised and refined country cooking, not heavy but rich in flavours and textures, drawing on the great garden of the Loire valley. Fruit and vegetables abound: asparagus, artichokes, button mushrooms, cherries and strawberries from the Loire are transported to kitchens throughout France. These provide succulent accompaniments to the duck, venison and wild boar dishes (all hunted locally) and served in sauces using wines from the local vineyards. Non-meat eaters have no need to feel left out though - with three wide, gently flowing rivers passing through, freshwater fish appear on most restaurant menus. /Sandre/ (pikeperch) and /brème/ (bream) are especially popular and are usually served in a /beurre blanc/ sauce - the Loire fish dish, made with shallots, butter, dry white wine and vinegar.

Book with Confidence

  • icon
    Low Deposit

    Exodus requires a deposit of 20% to secure a place on this tour, and the final balance is not due till 70 days before departure..

  • icon
    Secure payments

    All payments to TourHub are deposited into an externally regulated Trust account.


Travel, Your Way

Good reasons for travelling privately

  • icon
    Personalise your trip

    Make changes to the itinerary, accommodation, or transport method

  • icon
    Increased safety during COVID

    Spend the majority of time amongst your group to reduce exposure to others

  • icon
    Travel more exclusively

    Your tour guide can focus all their attention on your group

  • icon
    Travel for a special occasion

    Celebrate an important event by only travelling with your friends or family

Learn more

Dates & Availability

Sunday May 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Tuesday May 11, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Thursday May 13, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Saturday May 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Monday May 17, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Wednesday May 19, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Friday May 21, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Sunday May 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Tuesday May 25, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Thursday May 27, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Saturday May 29, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Monday May 31, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Wednesday Jun 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Friday Jun 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Sunday Jun 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Tuesday Jun 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Thursday Jun 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Saturday Jun 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Monday Jun 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Wednesday Jun 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Friday Jun 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Sunday Jun 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Tuesday Jun 22, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Thursday Jun 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Saturday Jun 26, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Monday Jun 28, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Wednesday Jun 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1782.34

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Sunday Jul 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Tuesday Jul 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Thursday Jul 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Saturday Jul 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Monday Jul 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Wednesday Jul 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Sunday Jul 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Tuesday Jul 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Thursday Jul 22, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Saturday Jul 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Monday Jul 26, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Wednesday Jul 28, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Sunday Aug 01, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Tuesday Aug 03, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Thursday Aug 05, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Saturday Aug 07, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Monday Aug 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Wednesday Aug 11, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Sunday Aug 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Tuesday Aug 17, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Thursday Aug 19, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Saturday Aug 21, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Monday Aug 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Wednesday Aug 25, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Sunday Aug 29, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Tuesday Aug 31, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1810.21

Thursday Sep 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Saturday Sep 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Monday Sep 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Wednesday Sep 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Sunday Sep 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Tuesday Sep 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Thursday Sep 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Saturday Sep 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47

Monday Sep 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1754.47