Villages & Vineyards of Alsace, Self-Guided Walk

Start: Turckheim Finish: Turckheim

Visiting: Riquewihr, Colmar, Alsace


Duration: 8 Nights

Physical rating: Leisurely / Moderate

Special diets catered: Please inform Exodus of specific dietary requirements

Tour Operator: Exodus

Group size: 1 - 6

Age range: 8 to 99

Tour operated in: English


Prices From: $1489

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

This unique part of France provides a fantastic step back in time - an absolute must for the history buff and those who appreciate a good glass of wine. Having been fought over for centuries by Germany and France, this rolling, wine-growing heartland is now heavily characterised by an eclectic mix of cuisine, language, architecture and customs. Pristine German and French cemeteries offer a moving reminder of Alsace's history. 

Highlights

  • iconWalk through vineyards, ancient oak forest and unspoilt flower-filled gingerbread villages 
  • iconVisit romantic castles, Gothic churches, medieval villages; Riquewihr and Colmar, the 'Venice of Alsace'
  • iconTry the regional wines

Places You'll See

Countries:
Cities & Attractions:

Itinerary

Map Image
icon Day 1 : Arrive at Turckheim

Meals: breakfast

Your first night is spent in a friendly Alsatian hotel in the heart of the village. With so many restaurants on your doorstep, we've left you free to choose where to dine this evening. *Standard hotel*

icon Day 2 : Turckheim to Kaysersberg

Meals: breakfast

Today it's time to explore Turckheim's Renaissance church and mediaeval gate where storks still nest. Your walk through the vines takes you past flower-filled Niedermorschwihr and Ammerschwihr where you can taste the local vintage, Kaefferkopf, in cosy wine cellars. It's then on to the fortified town of Kaysersberg and your hotel on a quiet cobbled street in the old town. Two options: 10km/6.5mi/2hr or 21km/14mi/4hr *Standard hotel*

icon Day 3 : At Kaysersberg

Meals: breakfast

In the morning why not stroll up to the ruins of the mediaeval castle for a bird's eye view over Kaysersberg's half-timbered houses decked with geraniums along the River Weiss? Afterwards, perhaps follow a valley trail to Kientzheim or visit Colmar, only 25 minutes by local bus. Known as the 'Venice of Alsace', it's a honeycomb of pretty canals and gorgeous pastel-coloured houses. *Standard hotel*

icon Day 4 : Kaysersberg to Riquewihr

Meals: breakfast

A gentle climb through oak and beech forest leads to Chapelle St Alexis hidden in the woods and with a great auberge for lunch. Your route then descends in and out of pine forest and before long, you get your first glimpses of the showcase of Renaissance houses that earn Riquewihr its nickname, 'Pearl of the Vineyards'. An easier route through the typically Alsatian villages of Kientzheim and Sigolsheim take you up to a war memorial with incredible panoramic views of the Vosges plains, then pick up the Camino de Santiago into Riquewihr.  Two options: 11km/7mi/2hr or 12km/7.5mi/3.5hr

icon Day 5 : At Riquewihr

Meals: breakfast

The town of Riquewihr is so enchanting it's been declared an historic monument in its entirety. You'll be fascinated by its cobbled alleys, galleried courtyards, fountains and colourful signboards. *Standard hotel*

icon Day 6 : Riquewihr to Bergheim

Meals: breakfast

You pass through the heart of mediaeval Alsace via the Riesling vineyards nestling at the foot of the mountains. Hunawihr has a fortified church and stork sanctuary; you'll also find otters, butterflies and orchids in the reserve. Three ruined castles of the once-powerful Counts of Ribeaupierre loom overhead as you walk on through the vines to Bergheim. Two options: 11km/7mi/2hr or 19km/12mi/4hr *Standard hotel*

icon Day 7 : At Bergheim

Meals: breakfast

This colourful and ancient market town was a mediaeval refuge where criminals on the run were safe from persecution. There are lots of beautiful timber-framed houses and a decorated fountain in the old square. Be sure to take a short taxi ride or do the longer optional walk to the amazing Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle; it's a gentle downhill walk back too! *Standard hotel*

icon Day 8 : Bergheim to Chatenois/Turckheim

Meals: breakfast

You continue parallel to the Route des Vins to a poignant WW2 German military cemetery with panoramic views over the famous restored castle at Haut-Koenigsbourg. At St-Hippolyte there's a Gothic church and fountain, while the ruined court of mediaeval Kintzheim Castle is the setting for spectacular flying displays by birds of prey. At Chatenois, where the walk finishes, we give you a lift back to Turckheim. Two options: 12km/7.5mi/2.5hr or 14km/9mi/3hr *Standard hotel*

icon Day 9 : Leave Turckheim

Meals: breakfast

If you have pre-booked a transfer, we will take you to Colmar train station in time for your journey home.

What's Included

  • icon
    Luggage transfers between hotels

  • icon
    All accommodation (see accommodation section)

  • icon
    Route notes and maps provided

  • icon
    Walking transfers

  • icon
    All breakfasts

What's Not Included

  • icon
    Travel insurance

  • icon
    Single accommodation (available on request - compulsory supplement)

  • icon
    Visa's & vaccinations

Food

Although traditional Alsatian cuisine is originally a peasant cuisine featuring potatoes, cabbage, beef and pork as the main ingredients, there are now some 30 Michelin starred restaurants in the Alsace region, offering visually spectacular and delicious, locally sourced, dishes. With two ‘starred’ restaurants in Kaysersberg, one in Riquewihr and one in Ammerschwihr, along with several others featured in the Michelin guide, there is plenty of top quality dining to choose from along your route. The cuisine features a lot of different pies, long simmered or stewed dishes like the traditional baeckeoffe. There is also the famous tarte flambée (flammekeuche in Alsatian dialect), a thin dough covered in cream, chopped onions and diced bacon. The influence of German cuisine and food habits is mainly marked in the important consumption of pork products and charcuterie. ‘Winstub’ is a traditional Alsatian restaurant. Originally it was a public space where the Alsatian wine-makers used to come to present and sell their wine. They used to serve traditional simple dishes to their customers, to accompany their tasting.

Book with Confidence

  • icon
    Low Deposit

    Exodus requires a deposit of 20% to secure a place on this tour, and the final balance is not due till 70 days before departure..

  • icon
    Secure payments

    All payments to TourHub are deposited into an externally regulated Trust account.


Travel, Your Way

Good reasons for travelling privately

  • icon
    Personalise your trip

    Make changes to the itinerary, accommodation, or transport method

  • icon
    Increased safety during COVID

    Spend the majority of time amongst your group to reduce exposure to others

  • icon
    Travel more exclusively

    Your tour guide can focus all their attention on your group

  • icon
    Travel for a special occasion

    Celebrate an important event by only travelling with your friends or family

Learn more

Dates & Availability

Sunday May 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Tuesday May 11, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Thursday May 13, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Saturday May 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Monday May 17, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Wednesday May 19, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Friday May 21, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Sunday May 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Tuesday May 25, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Thursday May 27, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Saturday May 29, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Monday May 31, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Wednesday Jun 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Friday Jun 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Sunday Jun 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Tuesday Jun 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Thursday Jun 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Saturday Jun 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Monday Jun 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Wednesday Jun 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Friday Jun 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Sunday Jun 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Tuesday Jun 22, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Thursday Jun 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Saturday Jun 26, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Monday Jun 28, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Wednesday Jun 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1488.95

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Jul 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Jul 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Jul 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Jul 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Jul 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Wednesday Jul 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Jul 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Jul 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Jul 22, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Jul 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Jul 26, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Wednesday Jul 28, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Aug 01, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Aug 03, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Aug 05, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Aug 07, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Aug 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Wednesday Aug 11, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Aug 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Aug 17, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Aug 19, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Aug 21, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Aug 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Wednesday Aug 25, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Aug 29, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Aug 31, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Sep 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Sep 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Sep 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Wednesday Sep 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Sunday Sep 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Tuesday Sep 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Thursday Sep 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Saturday Sep 18, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74

Monday Sep 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1530.74