Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont

Start: Benevello Finish: Benevello

Visiting: Benevello, Grinzane Cavour, Castiglione Falletto, Monforte d'Alba


Duration: 8 Nights

Physical rating: Leisurely / Moderate

Special diets catered: Please inform Exodus of specific dietary requirements

Tour code: W08PB

Tour operator: Exodus

Group size: 2 - 6

Age range: 12 to 99

Tour operated in: English


Prices From: $1932

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

On this self-guided, hotel-to-hotel walking holiday, you'll explore the beautifully tranquil Langhe region of Piedmont, a gastronomic gem quietly tucked into Italy's north-western corner. Recently recognised by UNESCO, the countryside is a glorious mix of gently rippling, wave-shaped hills cloaked by layers of vines, sunflowers and oak forests, crowned with honey-hued hamlets and majestic Savoy castles.

Highlights

  • iconBased on our popular 8 night, Gastronomic">https://www.headwater.com/holidays/walking/italy/W08PD.htm">Gastronomic Barolo Walk
  • iconImposing Savoy castles, tiny frescoed chapels, sun-drenched hamlets
  • iconExcellent cuisine, prized white truffles, hazelnuts and chocolate!
  • iconAtmospheric wine villages and boundless vineyards
  • iconSuperb walking in truly undiscovered, yet highly sophisticated Italy
  • iconLuxury hotels; 4 out of 8 nights, with panoramic swimming pools

Places You'll See

Countries:
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont
Walking the Wine Villages of Piedmont

Itinerary

icon Day 1 :  ARRIVE AT BENEVELLO

Location: Benevello

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Villa d'Amelia

Meals: No Meals

Arrive at your hotel in time for a swim before dinner.

icon Day 2 : BENEVELLO TO GRINZANE CAVOUR

Location: Benevello, Grinzane Cavour

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Casa Pavesi

Meals: Breakfast

After a short transfer you follow a gentle path alongside the clear waters of the Tanaro River, next to which pheasants and partridges rustle in the oak forest. It's on to Roddi (the castle here used to house the University of Truffle Dogs!) and Grinzane Cavour with its wonderful megalithic castle with amazing views. Time for a drink on the terrace at our stunning 4 star hotel in the village centre before dinner. 

icon Day 3 : AT GRINZANE CAVOUR

Location: Grinzane Cavour

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Casa Pavesi

Meals: Breakfast

Grinzane Cavour is an atmospheric wine village with wine tasting on offer in its UNESCO-recognised castle. Gastronomic capital, Alba, is easily reached from here (you may wish to take a taxi there, then walk back); explore the cobbled crimson squares and bustling porticoed streets. 

icon Day 4 : GRINZANE CAVOUR TO CASTIGLIONE FALLETTO

Location: Grinzane Cavour, Castiglione Falletto

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Hotel Le Torri

Meals: Breakfast

After a short transfer to panoramic hilltop Diano d'Alba you follow lush paths with hawks cruising overhead as you cross the Talloria River. Then it's a gentle climb through holm oak to reach Serralunga d'Alba, whose C13 castle seems to surge towards the sky - you still need to cross the drawbridge to visit it. A last gentle ascent through vines takes you to the centre of Castiglione Falletto and your welcoming village hotel

icon Day 5 : AT CASTIGLIONE FALLETTO

Location: Castiglione Falletto

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Hotel Le Torri

Meals: Breakfast

Perhaps follow a circular route today (route notes provided), first visiting tiny Annunziata with its frescoed chapel (and an excellent farmhouse trattoria). Then it's on through sun-dappled hamlets and delicate swaying vines to reach La Morra, the 'Balcony of the Langhe', with plenty of wine-tasting opportunities in the bustling centre - even Julius Caesar stopped here to try some! 

icon Day 6 : Castiglione Falletto to Monforte D'alba

Location: Castiglione Falletto, Monforte d'Alba

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Villa Beccaris

Meals: Breakfast

Descending gently to the Talloria Valley, you follow the stream's poplar-shaded path towards the ochre-hued 16th century castle of Barolo, which stands guard over the village's world-famous vineyards. Maybe visit panoramic Novello, a belvedere town built as a summer retreat for the residents of Alba, before continuing through fields ablaze with colourful wild flowers to reach our elegant villa hotel at Monforte d'Alba. Optional shorter walk: 2hrs, distance 8km/5mi

icon Day 7 : AT MONFORTE D'ALBA

Location: Monforte d'Alba

Accommodation: Hotel

Accommodation Name: Villa Beccaris

Meals: Breakfast

Situated in its own scented garden with views across mediaeval Monforte and beyond (even Mont Blanc on a clear day), Villa Beccaris offers a tempting swimming pool and a sun-trap courtyard. Alternatively, explore this pretty town with twisting streets clinging to the hillside. There are also plenty of opportunities for wine tasting.

icon Day 8 : MONFORTE D'ALBA TO BENEVELLO 

Location: Monforte d'Alba, Benevello

Accommodation Name: Villa d'Amelia

Meals: Breakfast

Take a lift to lovely Serravalle Langhe, from where you join the Sentiero della Valle Tanaro. First, shaded by hazelnut, oak and poplar trees, you reach Albaretto della Torre dominated by its 13th century Duecentesca tower. After lunch the panorama opens out with spectacular views back to Alba and the Tanaro Valley as you descend gently towards Benevello. There's time for one last swim before dinner

icon Day 9 : LEAVE BENEVELLO

Location: Benevello

Meals: Breakfast

LEAVE BENEVELLO

What's Included

  • icon
    Arrival and departure transfers (for flight inclusive packages)

  • icon
    Luggage transfers between hotels

  • icon
    Walking transfers

  • icon
    Route notes and maps provided 

  • icon
    Management by your local Headwater-appointed agent

  • icon
    All continental breakfast

What's Not Included

  • icon
    Travel insurance

  • icon
    Single supplements

  • icon
    Arrival and departure transfers (for land only packages - available for a supplement)

  • icon
    Visas and vaccinations

Food

All breakfasts. Italian food is one of the country’s most revered exports and Piedmont is a region that won’t disappoint gastronomes! The cuisine is a fusion of the best of Italian and French food. However, the region’s rural nature means that dishes are predominantly simple but use exceptional quality and flavoursome ingredients. Piedmont’s wine is famous throughout the world, and justifiably so. The most famous are the wines of the Langhe, which produces Barolo, Barbaresco, Dolcetto, Barbera as well as whites such as Asti and Moscato.

Book with Confidence

  • icon
    Low Deposit

    Exodus requires a deposit of 20% to secure a place on this tour, and the final balance is not due till 70 days before departure..

  • icon
    Secure payments

    All payments to TourHub are deposited into an externally regulated Trust account.


Got a question? Check out our Q&As

View Q&As Ask A Question

Dates & Availability

Select departure month

Thursday Jun 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jun 25, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Jul 01, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Jul 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jul 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Jul 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Jul 22, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jul 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Jul 29, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Aug 05, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Aug 06, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Aug 12, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Aug 19, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Aug 20, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Aug 26, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Sep 02, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Sep 03, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Saturday Sep 04, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Sep 09, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Sep 16, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Sep 17, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Sep 23, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Sep 24, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Sep 30, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Oct 01, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Oct 07, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Oct 08, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Oct 14, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Friday Oct 15, 2021

Nights

8

Available

8

$1932.23

Thursday Apr 14, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Apr 15, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Apr 21, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Apr 22, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Apr 28, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Apr 29, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday May 05, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday May 06, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday May 12, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday May 13, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday May 19, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday May 20, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday May 26, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday May 27, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jun 02, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jun 03, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jun 09, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jun 10, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jun 16, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jun 17, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jun 23, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jun 24, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jun 30, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jul 01, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jul 07, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jul 08, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jul 14, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jul 15, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jul 21, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jul 22, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Jul 28, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Jul 29, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Aug 04, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Aug 05, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Aug 11, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Aug 12, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Aug 18, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Aug 19, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Aug 25, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Aug 26, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Sep 01, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Sep 02, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Sep 08, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Sep 09, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Sep 15, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Sep 16, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Sep 22, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Sep 23, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Sep 29, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Sep 30, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Oct 06, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Oct 07, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Thursday Oct 13, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59

Friday Oct 14, 2022

Nights

8

Available

8

$2125.59