Chiang Mai & Elephant Experience

Start: Chiang Mai Finish: Chiang Mai

Visiting: Chiang Mai , ChangChill - Chiang Mai


Duration: 2 Nights

Physical rating: Low

Special diets catered: Vegetarians

Tour Operator: Intrepid Travel

Group size: 1 - 12

Age range: 5-99 years

Tour operated in: English


Prices From: $804

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

See a different side of Chiang Mai by hanging out with the gentle giants of the ChangChill elephant experience. You'll learn how this organisation supports the protection, conservation and lifestyle of free-roaming elephants in the region. Observe the daily patterns of these jungle giants from a safe distance, seeing how they graze and socialise with each other. Wave goodbye to new friends and return to Chiang Mai to make offerings to monks, explore Kad Ton Payo flea market, enjoy a spot of meditation or taste regional specialties.

Highlights

  • iconMeet elephants in a responsible environment by hanging out with the gentle giants of the ChangChill elephant experience.
  • iconTalk with the abbot at the 600-year-old Wat Umong Temple and learn about Buddhism and Dharma
  • iconTake a songthaew to Kad Ton Payom flea market and purchase offerings to give to monks
  • iconDiscover local flavours with a traditional breakfast
  • iconMingle with the monks and get some basic meditation tips in Wat Suan Dok

Places You'll See

Countries:
Cities & Attractions:

Itinerary

Map Image
icon Day 1: Chiang Mai

Location: Chiang Mai

Accommodation: Hotel

Sa-wat dee! Welcome to Thailand. The most vibrant city in northern Thailand, Chiang Mai has many famous temples and an interesting old city area. Your adventure begins with a welcome meeting at 7pm with your local guide. An airport arrival transfer is included please advise your flight details at time of booking. If you arrive early, head out to explore charming Chiang Mai. The friendliness of the people, the interesting old town bound by moats, and the many fascinating temples enthral travellers from around the world. After the welcome meeting you will have free time tonight. Make sure to sample some delicious traditional northern Thai food in the vibrant night markets – the signature dish is kao soy, yellow wheat noodles in a curry broth, traditionally served with chicken or beef.

Included Activities:
-Complimentary Airport Arrival Transfer

icon Day 2: ChangChill - Chiang Mai

Location: ChangChill - Chiang Mai

Accommodation: Hotel

Meals: breaksfast, lunch

Today, you’ll have a pretty special time visiting the ChangChill elephant experience. Take a 1.5-hour drive out of Chiang Mai to ChangChill, where you’ll begin to learn how this organisation supports the protection, conservation and lifestyle of free-roaming elephants in the region. You’ll observe the daily patterns of these jungle giants from a safe distance, seeing how they graze and socialise with their other friends. The expert local guides will be able to give you a ‘live lecture’ on the elephants themselves, its sustainable tourism practices and conservation efforts in the area. Enjoy some refreshments nearby the elephant’s mud pit but be careful not to get a spray! Be treated to some lunch in a riverside sala (pavilion) alongside your giant friends, who will be enjoying a meal too. Return to Chiang Mai where the rest of the time is at leisure.

Included Activities:
-Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary day trip
-Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary Lunch

icon Day 3: Chiang Mai

Location: Chiang Mai

Meals: breaksfast

It’s an early start today (pick up between 5.30 to 5.50am) as you set off by songthaew for a scenic drive to Kad Ton Payom flea market. Here you’ll collect your offerings from the market and then offer these alms to monks to ‘make merit’. This region is famous for its cuisine and you’ll enjoy a traditional breakfast of local specialities such as rice soup, fried rice, and grilled pork. The next stop is Wat U-mong, a 600 year-old temple famed for its large painted pagoda and underground tunnel. Soak up the peaceful atmosphere and take the opportunity to talk with the abbot about Buddhism and Dharma. Then it’s on to Wat Suan Dok, where you can mingle with monks to learn about their way of life, take some time to learn basic meditation, and also make an offering to the Sangkha (the Buddhist community). Your adventure concludes at approximately 12pm, and you are free to depart at any time. There is no accommodation included tonight. Perhaps stay in Chiang Mai and explore the city further.

Included Activities:
-Chiang Mai - Kad Ton Payom Market visit
-Chiang Mai - Monk chat & meditation
-Chiang Mai - Wat U-mong & Wat Suan Dok

What's Included

  • icon
    Accommodation

    Hotel (2 nights)

  • icon
    Meals

    2 breakfasts, 1 lunches

  • icon
    Chiang Mai - Wat U-mong & Wat Suan Dok

  • icon
    Chiang Mai - Kad Ton Payom Market visit

  • icon
    Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary Lunch

  • icon
    Complimentary Airport Arrival Transfer

  • icon
    Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary day trip

  • icon
    Chiang Mai - Monk chat & meditation

Transport

  • Mini bus , Songthaew

Accommodation

  • Hotel (2 nights)

Included Activities

  • Complimentary Airport Arrival Transfer
  • Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary day trip
  • Chiang Mai - ChangChill Elephant Sanctuary Lunch
  • Chiang Mai - Kad Ton Payom Market visit
  • Chiang Mai - Monk chat & meditation
  • Chiang Mai - Wat U-mong & Wat Suan Dok

Book with Confidence

  • icon
    Low Deposit

    Intrepid Travel requires a deposit of 200 GBP to secure a place on this tour, and the final balance is not due till 21 days before departure..

  • icon
    Secure payments

    All payments to TourHub are deposited into an externally regulated Trust account.


Got a question? Check out our Q&As

View Q&As Ask A Question

Travel, Your Way

Good reasons for travelling privately

  • icon
    Personalise your trip

    Make changes to the itinerary, accommodation, or transport method

  • icon
    Increased safety during COVID

    Spend the majority of time amongst your group to reduce exposure to others

  • icon
    Travel more exclusively

    Your tour guide can focus all their attention on your group

  • icon
    Travel for a special occasion

    Celebrate an important event by only travelling with your friends or family

Learn more

Dates & Availability

Select departure month

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Jul 04, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Jul 06, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Jul 09, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Jul 11, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Jul 13, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Jul 18, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Jul 20, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Jul 23, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Jul 25, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Jul 27, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Aug 01, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Aug 03, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Aug 06, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Aug 08, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Aug 10, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Aug 15, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Aug 17, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Aug 20, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Aug 22, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Aug 24, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Aug 29, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Aug 31, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Sep 03, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Sep 05, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Sep 07, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Sep 12, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Sep 14, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Sep 17, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Sep 19, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Sep 21, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Sep 24, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Sep 26, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Sep 28, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Oct 01, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Oct 03, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Oct 05, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Oct 08, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Oct 10, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Oct 12, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Oct 15, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Oct 17, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Oct 19, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Oct 22, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Oct 24, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Oct 26, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Oct 29, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Oct 31, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Nov 02, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Nov 05, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Nov 07, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Nov 09, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Nov 12, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Nov 14, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Nov 16, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Nov 19, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Nov 21, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Nov 23, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Nov 26, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Nov 28, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Nov 30, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Dec 03, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Dec 05, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Dec 07, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Dec 10, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Dec 12, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Dec 14, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Friday Dec 17, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Sunday Dec 19, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$803.53

Tuesday Dec 21, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$817.51

Friday Dec 24, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$817.51

Sunday Dec 26, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$817.51

Tuesday Dec 28, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$817.51

Friday Dec 31, 2021

Nights

3

Available

12

$1264.69

Sunday Jan 02, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jan 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jan 07, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jan 09, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jan 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jan 14, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jan 16, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jan 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jan 21, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jan 23, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jan 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jan 28, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jan 30, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Feb 01, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Feb 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Feb 06, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Feb 08, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Feb 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Feb 13, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Feb 15, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Feb 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Feb 20, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Feb 22, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Feb 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Apr 01, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Apr 03, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Apr 05, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Apr 08, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Apr 10, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Apr 12, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Apr 15, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Apr 17, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Apr 19, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Apr 22, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Apr 24, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Apr 26, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Apr 29, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday May 01, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday May 03, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday May 06, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday May 08, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday May 10, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday May 13, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday May 15, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday May 17, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday May 20, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday May 22, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday May 24, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday May 27, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday May 29, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday May 31, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jun 03, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jun 05, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jun 07, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jun 10, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jun 12, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jun 14, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jun 17, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jun 19, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jun 21, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jun 24, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jun 26, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jun 28, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jul 01, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jul 03, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jul 05, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jul 08, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jul 10, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jul 12, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jul 15, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jul 17, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jul 19, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jul 22, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jul 24, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Jul 26, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Jul 29, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Jul 31, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Aug 02, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Aug 05, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Aug 07, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Aug 09, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Aug 12, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Aug 14, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Aug 16, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Aug 19, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Aug 21, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Aug 23, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Aug 26, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Aug 28, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Aug 30, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Sep 02, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Sep 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Sep 06, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Sep 09, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Sep 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Sep 13, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Sep 16, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Sep 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Sep 20, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Sep 23, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Sep 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Sep 27, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Sep 30, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Oct 02, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Oct 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Oct 07, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Oct 09, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Oct 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Oct 14, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Oct 16, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Oct 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Oct 21, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Oct 23, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Oct 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Oct 28, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Oct 30, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Nov 01, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Nov 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Nov 06, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Nov 08, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Nov 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Nov 13, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Nov 15, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Nov 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Nov 20, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Nov 22, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Nov 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Nov 27, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Nov 29, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Dec 02, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Dec 04, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Dec 06, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Dec 09, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Dec 11, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Dec 13, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Dec 16, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Dec 18, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Dec 20, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Dec 23, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Sunday Dec 25, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Tuesday Dec 27, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27

Friday Dec 30, 2022

Nights

3

Available

12

$950.27