Loire Gastronomic Cycling - Short Break

From France to France

Visiting: France


Tour Operator: Headwater


Prices From:

Check Availability Ask A Question

Tour Overview

A gentle, unhurried introduction to the very essence of the Loire Valley: majestic chateaux, wide rivers, world-famous wines and some of the finest food we've ever eaten in France! Holiday includes two nights in a luxury chateau.

Places You'll See

Countries:

Itinerary

Day 1: Arrive at Chissay
Arrive at Chissay and take some time to enjoy a swim before dinner.

Day 2: Chissay to St-Ouen-les-Vignes 29km/18mi
Gentle pedalling along the banks of the Cher will bring you first to the superb Chateau de Chenonceau with its famous arches majestically spanning the river. Described by Flaubert as floating 'on air and water', it's arguably the most beautiful of all the Loire landmarks. Lunch here perhaps on the terrace of the Orangerie restaurant before heading off through the shady Amboise forest and on to Amboise. Don't worry if you don't have time to explore properly today as you can easily come back tomorrow. Your final stretch leads to the elegant village of St Ouen-les-Vignes and Jacques and Odile Arrayet's bijou hotel beside the river. Odile is a professional sommelier, and Jacques artistic chef de cuisine, so you're in for some treats here!

Day 3: St-Ouen-les-Vignes to Ouchamps 45km/28mi
Cycle through the open countryside to Autreche and on to Chaumont and its spectacular chateau, which hosts the International Garden Festival (May-Oct). A riverside stretch takes you via pretty villages to Ouchamps. Enjoy two nights at the Relais des Landes, a 17th century manor house beautifully set in its own private grounds, with evening meals included.

Day 4: Ouchamps to Chissay 32km/20mi
Head south, to the fortified chateau of Fougeres-sur-Bievre. Freewheel down to the River Cher, medieval Montrichard and on to Chateau de Chissay where a gastronomic dinner (included) awaits.

Day 5: Leave Chissay
Please note that cycling helmets are compulsory in France for children under 12. As we are unable to provide these, we strongly recommend that you bring your own. Please see our Planning you holiday page for full details.

Travel

British Airways Heathrow to Paris CDG 07:15/09:35 then rail Paris Charles de Gaulle to Tours St Pierre des Corps 11:19/12:58 and transfer to hotel 35 minutes. Return: Transfer to station 35 minutes then rail Tours St Pierre des Corps to Paris Charles de Gaulle via Marne-la-Valle 10:54/13:02 then British Airways Paris CDG to Heathrow 16:35/16:55.

Accommodation

Chateau de Chissay (3 star)
The Chateau de Chissay is a chateau hotel steeped in history, set in 25 ha of parkland overlooking the Cher. Lovingly restored back in 1986, it's said that both Charles VII and Louis XI stayed here. In the stately dining room, once the guard room, you'll be treated to delicious cuisine inspired by local produce and also a comprehensive wine list. The rooms have been tastefully decorated and their bathrooms each feature mosaic designs representing famous people from French history who marked the different periods in time. Please note that the swimming pool at the Chateau is not heated. Pool towels are provided.

LAubiniere (4 star)
L'Aubiniere is in the centre of an elegant village beside the River Ramberge just 5k north of Amboise. The garden is lovely - willow trees are set in lush lawns full of flowers, you can wander down to the river bank. Good size heated swimming pool with views opening on to the garden and its trees. Pool towels are provided. All the bedrooms are stunning; all are different - imaginative design and high quality fittings. Owned and run by Jacques and Odile Arrayet, it is the restaurant that truly demonstrates their combined skills - Odile is a wine expert, a trained sommelier. Jacques is an artistic chef whose trained eye finds the best regional produce to conjure up dishes that are full of taste and natural flavours. A culinary treat awaits!

Relais des Landes (3 star)
Set in the Heart of the Loire Valley, le Relais des Landes is the ideal resting place for visiting the favourite region of Kings and Queens of France, its castles and its vineyards. This 17th-century manor house in the middle of a 14ha park in blossom surroundings and planted with trees, will allow you to appreciate the charm of a house with a lot of character and the pleasure of its covered and heated swimming pool located in the border of a forest.

Single Supplement

Add 170 for sole occupancy of a double room.

Meals

All continental breakfast and gastronomic evening meals
icon
Want to read it later?

Download this tour’s PDF brochure and start tour planning offline

Download

Dates & Availability

Select departure month

Sunday May 09, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday May 11, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday May 13, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday May 15, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday May 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday May 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday May 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday May 23, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday May 25, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday May 27, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday May 29, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday May 31, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Jun 02, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Jun 04, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Jun 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Jun 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Jun 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Jun 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Jun 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Jun 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Jun 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Jun 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Jun 22, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Jun 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Jun 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Jun 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Jun 30, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Jul 02, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Jul 04, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Jul 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Jul 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Jul 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Jul 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Jul 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Jul 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Jul 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Jul 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Jul 22, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Jul 24, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Jul 26, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Jul 28, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Jul 30, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Aug 01, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Aug 03, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Aug 05, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Aug 07, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Aug 09, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Aug 11, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Aug 13, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Aug 15, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Aug 17, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Aug 19, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Aug 21, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Aug 23, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Aug 25, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Aug 27, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Aug 29, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Aug 31, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Sep 02, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Sep 04, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Sep 06, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Wednesday Sep 08, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Friday Sep 10, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday Sep 12, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Tuesday Sep 14, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Thursday Sep 16, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Saturday Sep 18, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Monday Sep 20, 2021

Nights

4

Available

99

Sunday, May 09, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, May 13, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, May 15, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, May 17, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, May 21, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, May 23, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, May 27, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, May 29, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, May 31, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Jun 04, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Jun 06, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Jun 10, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Jun 12, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Jun 14, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Jun 18, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Jun 20, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Jun 24, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Jun 26, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Jun 28, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Jul 02, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Jul 04, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Jul 06, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Jul 10, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Jul 12, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Jul 16, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Jul 18, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Jul 24, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Jul 26, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Jul 30, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Aug 01, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Aug 05, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Aug 07, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Aug 09, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Aug 13, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Aug 15, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Aug 19, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Aug 23, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Aug 27, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Aug 29, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Sep 02, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Sep 04, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Sep 06, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Friday, Sep 10, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Sunday, Sep 12, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Thursday, Sep 16, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Saturday, Sep 18, 2021

4Nights

99Available

Monday, Sep 20, 2021

4Nights

99Available